New Book Concept

So I currently have….*counting in my head*…seven novel ideas in the works. And a new one has just introduced itself to me.

tumblr_mgdlpgYFqz1r8zonao1_500

Oh gosh. This is exciting!

I have always wanted to write a heroic-fantasy-middle-earth-inspired story but have never been brave enough to attempt such a feet.

J.R.R Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings was a gigantic part of my childhood (my parents read me the Hobbit instead of Winnie the Pooh=thought Gollem hid in my closet for the first seven years of my life). And has always been the titan that I compare all fantasy books to. And I didn’t believe that I could write a story like that without holding it against the ulitmate fantasy world.

That’s why I was so very suprised when this story crawled into my brain and made room for itself.

Now this is very exciting, but also very daunting. I have to really create a world to make this happen. Now in any story you do have to create the world, but this story is going to require a planet and religion and all sorts of planning. Which could be stressful or fun, or both. Both, it’ll be both.

I spent my entire Saturday focusing on this new concept, coming up with dwarf/elf names and trying to teach myself how to pronounce these names.

tumblr_np4lrg72YC1tqpu8po1_500.gif

I feel like I need to be able to pronounce my own character’s names. That needs to be something I can do. I still haven’t named the world. Ten points for anyone with a name for this mythical world!

This is really exciting. Maybe not for anyone else, my loved ones have to listen to me talk about dwarves and trolls ad nauseum now.

But why wouldn’t you like that?

Leave a comment